top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSteph Rillo

Blanc de Blanc Encore

As an Adelaide native I've always enjoyed the festivities of the Adelaide Fringe, and Strut and Fret productions are no less than Fringe royalty; consistently taking centre stage at the biggest and best venues of the season, and putting on awe-inspiring extravaganzas that become the talk of the town. As it turns out, you don't need to wait for Mad March to experience Strut and Fret's iconic cabaret spectacular. nor do you need to be in Adelaide. Sydney-siders can now indulge their senses at the Grand Electric theatre in Surry Hills for the encore production of Blanc de Blanc. 


Blanc de Blanc Encore has enjoyed a sell-out season at the Sydney Opera House, numerous sold-out seasons at the Adelaide Fringe, and has just extended its season in Surry Hills. Taking all the glitz, glamour and decadence of classic French performances, combining it with scandalous hedonism, and tying it together with a medley of modern hits that all-but-guarantee you'll be writhing in your seats. The show is hosted by Felix (who adds some fun credibilty to the show immediately with his silky French accent) and Danny (who tells me that a last-minute script change was needed to seamlessly weave his British accent into the storyline, as opposed to the awkward American that I expected as a return viewer of the show). As someone who’s seen the show twice now, once with the original American-French duo starring Monsieur Romeo, and now with the English-French duo, the new cast is a clear favourite. Felix and Danny’s chemistry is palpable and their improv skills ensure that the show runs smoothly no matter what the audience throws at them - a credit to their hosting skills.


Blanc de Blanc encore is truly a multi-sensory experience that is best experienced up close. If you can splurge on VIP tickets, do so. The immersion as the show happens in front of you, behind you, around you, and even above you - makes for a night like no other. To give away exactly what happens throughout the two hour show (divided by one intermission), would do both the show and reader a disservice. There’s no adequate way to describe the magnificence that each act deals in spades, but expect gravity-defying aerial work, high-energy dance numbers, sultry singing, quirky comedy, and everything in between. One moment I was in the Moulin Rouge, the next I was in Cirque du Soleil.


Audience interaction is highly encouraged and brings a unique, curated energy to each show. As someone who’s seen the show twice, I can now say this with certainty - even more so since I was pulled on stage for one of the most interactive audience-based acts in the show. Throughout the act I was blindfolded and so I had only my imagination and the audio around me to define my experience, but watching the video that my friend faithfully recorded made me appreciate the audience, cast, and show all the more. If you attend the show and are singled-out for any kind of tête-à-tête, don’t be that person who puts their dignity ahead of the audience’s entertainment. I was blindfolded on stage with three balloons nesting nested under my arms and between my legs - it was potentially the most embarrassed I’d ever felt, but I received nothing except overwhelming support and hype while interacting with the crowd both on stage and off stage after the show. And now I look back on that experience as the highlight of my week.


Blanc de Blanc Encore is running for a limited time only, so make sure you book your tickets as soon as you can to not miss out. Though it may return, as you’d expect of a show so ingenious and popular, it would be a great loss to miss out on witnessing the unique, wildly talented and chemistry-laden cast that has turned this show into something truly special.




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page